Review

Death Grips – Exmillitary [2011]

Title: Exmilitary

Artist: Death Grips

Year of Release: 2011

Trust me, this is one album I did not expect to like at all. When I first heard Guillotine, I was laughing my ass off because of the music video (see below). I finally decided to sit down one day and listen to the album in full. It was eye-opening, only because what I heard was definitely not the ‘hip-hop’ I’m accustomed to. Nonetheless, I always listen to albums a few times before giving a final verdict. So…what do I think?

It’s a mind-blowing collection of tracks. I wouldn’t say it’s a cohesive record as a whole, so the term ‘mixtape’ is appropriate here. I thought at first OFWGKTA took hip-hop to a dark place with their lyrics and imagery, but Death Grips is something else entirely. It’s definitely the most frightening hip-hop album I’ve heard, but not something that puts me off that I wouldn’t want to listen to it again. In fact, I have no problem putting it on anytime to listen to it again. There’s something remarkably different about these songs that makes you curious and wanting more. From the unorthodox samples to the harsh vocals of MC Ride, it’s loud, dissonant, and in-your-face. However, I’m not a fan of every song.

This album is definitely not for everyone, and I’m pretty sure many hip-hop fans will HATE this album, but for those wanting something different, you owe it to yourself to check this out. I can’t wait to see what else Death Grips has in store.

Standout tracks: ‘Lord of the Game (feat. Mexican Girl), ‘Takyon (Death Yon)’, ‘Klink’, ‘Beware’

Least favorite track: ‘Spread Eagle Across the Block’, ‘Culture Shock’

Download

Standard

Leave a comment